Thread: Camera Decision

Camera Decision

I am looking to purchase a compact camera and have narrowed it down to either a Sony RX100 m1 or a Panasonic TZ70. I appreciate that they are slightly different cameras and both have well documented positive and negative comments in mass reviews.

Can anyone share their experiences if they own either camera or especially if they have lived with either camera for any length of time please. Thank-you.

One with Nature
    "Always remember, no matter where you go there you are."
    hello,
    Price check I think you could purchase a Canon DSLR 1200D for around the same price. I quite like the look of the Sony RX100 http://www.sony.co.uk/electronics/cy...eras/dsc-rx100. I was also looking at the CANON PowerShot SX710 HS Superzoom compact camera. Interesting to see some feedback on this.
    Regards
    David

I've no experience of any of those cameras so can't offer any insight on that matter.
    What I would say is not to be swayed by hi-zoom cameras.
    Once you get over, say, x20 then it's all much of a muchness. Truth is, that all cameras suffer at the extreme ends of their zoom - picture quality will be greatly reduced. Also, once you get over x20 you'll have trouble holding the camera steady enough at the long ranges to make that extra zoom range worth it. Yeah, you could use a tripod (actually, I use a monopod - a compromise between stability and compactness), but surely that defeats the object of having a compact camera in the first place?