Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Emergency Fishing Kit - What does it really take?

Emergency Fishing Kit - What does it really take?

Hey Guys,
    The topic might not be the newest but just wanted to hear what your opinion is on this. I have been fishing since I was 5 years old and by now claim of myself not to be a bad one by now. I have plenty of tackle, rods, spools, boxes of lures, hooks, floats a plenty, sinkers, nets...jeeez I could keep going! There is probably three situations I find myself wanting to pack some fishing tackle.

1. I'm really going fishing (yeha...like duh!)
    2. I'm going somewhere where there could be an opportunity to fish (like when you go canoeing)
    3. Let's call it the emergency situation where you would be happy if you had at least the basics.

I am going leave out scenario 1 because that is a nonsense discussion. Haha

For Option 2: I have a small draw string bag of a netish material which holds a small hand reel (I think they are also known as Cuban Yo-Yo's) I once brought back from NZ. I know it is not one of the nicely hand crafted ones regularly being presented here on the forum but is light, holds a lot of line and casts really well.

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_20141214_130019.jpg 
Views:	402 
Size:	83.8 KB 
ID:	12699

Along with it in an empty filmtube come four hooks, two swivels, a tiny bobber cork,two sinkers and couple of BB split shots. I don't consider putting any lures in this useful. You probably could fish a small swimming or suspending jerkbait or twitch a small plug beneath a boat but would it do any better than natural bait? I don't think so. You have all options to fish it using the bobber cork, submerged on the ground with a sliding sinker rig or even use a simple paternoster rig. This should have you covered for most situations.