Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Beginner advice re: tent / tarp / hammock.

Beginner advice re: tent / tarp / hammock.

Hi,

I'm completely new to bushcraft but I'm keen to get started!

I've read about some people staying in tents or tarps or hammocks, what's the best way to go? I've googled for info on this, but surprisingly couldn't find many discussions on the topic.

Initially it would be for myself and occasionally I'd like to take someone with me. Obviously you can't get two people in a hammock, can you get two under a tarp?

I'm guessing that the more you get into it the more likely you are to get all three of these systems. I suppose I'm just looking for a beginners setup!

Thanks in advance,
    Rich

If I was to only buy one of them it would be a tarp. You will need a tarp if you use a hammock especially if it is raining. You can also use a tarp with a tent so for shear versatility it would have to be a tarp

It is also the cheapest

aman
    aman

Just my view but use a tent for your first few camps, then buy a cheap tarp a 3m X 3m will be fine and take that along and practise setting it up. Leave the hammock until you gain more experience. Try and get along to camps with other members near you, where in the UK are you
    Richard
    South Wales UK

Quote Originally Posted by rik_uk3 View Post
    Just my view but use a tent for your first few camps, then buy a cheap tarp a 3m X 3m will be fine and take that along and practise setting it up. Leave the hammock until you gain more experience. Try and get along to camps with other members near you, where in the UK are you
    Rik is that you dude. Long time no see

aman
    aman

Thanks for the replies guys.

Yes, I'm in the West Midlands. I've posted a message on introductions to see if anyone meets up in this area.

Is a tarp predominantly for warmer / good weather? You seem quite exposed to both wind (from 3 directions) or rain?

Thanks