Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Photo software.

Photo software.

Hi folks.

With Christmas just around the corner, my wife inevitably has the annual task of trying to decide what to buy me. However, like most blokes, I have no idea what I want - much to my wife's annoyance!!
    In fact we usually have that tango dance around of ideas wherein she suggests everything ever created since the dawn of time and I respond with "nah, don't want that", "no, it's not my cup of tea", "no thanks love, I've already got one"! Etc etc
    This usually ends with her making outrageous statements like "you're a bloody nightmare" or "well I give up, you can have socks and a toblerone like last year then"!

However this year is different, she hit on a great idea - buying me a new DSLR camera!! I've got plenty of HD Video gear but no dedicated stills camera. As I studied photography at college when I left school (a mere 182 years ago!!) I thought it would be great as nothing much will have changed - surely one still loads film into the camera on a large glass plate and set off a small explosive charge for a flash!!

Well apparently I was wrong!! (I guess there's a first time for everything!)
    Seemingly, one simply takes a photo, manipulates the colours etc on a computer (the strange, scary box that sits in the corner whirring to its self like an asthmatic bull dog) and hey presto! Great photos abound!!

To this end, could one or more of you fine folk please recommend some photo software that is primarily inexpensive and easy to use.

Thanks in advance.

Ade.

As I currently work with these things (well, learning to work with is the right word). I am tempted to recomend Adobe Lightroom. But since Adobe wants the price of your first born child, your left arm and the right of prima nocta if you have a daughter who plan to marry, for it, Adobe Elements is quite good enough for most beginners in the dSLR world.