Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: what wood?

what wood?

Hello everyone, I am new to bushcraft so please don't take the mick to much but for one of my first projects I want to learn is how to make fire without a steel so I thought THE BOWDRILL!
    Now I don't know if my technique is wrong (probably is) but I can work on that, I need to know if I am using the right wood or doesn't it matter, I don't know!
    Please help!

sorry dude i cant help you much with the materials as have not got this far myself yet, but what i can tell you is persistence is the key, seen people try to make fire with a bow drill for hours with no joy, but the look on there face when they achieve fire is priceless.

as for materials i can imagine hard woods would be the best but i'm sure others here that have experience using them first hand can offer better information than me. you never know some one might have one for sale, or offer info on how to make a good one.

cheers

Madz

Hi mr_moon, no one will take the mick buddy, at least until you get to know them anyway
    With fire bow, almost any wood can be used, but some work better. Goat willow is a good one, and cedar works pretty well too.
    Whatever you use, make sure it's as dry as possible, so dead (but not rotten). It's ok to use green (non dead) wood for the bearing block and bow, just not the hearth board and spindle.

Hope that helps a little

Adam
    Jack of all trades-Master of none

Savage Bushcraft YouTube channel

Banned
    Firstly you need to use seasoned wood ( dead standing ) for the hearth and spindle and its important that the bearing is of a harder wood and green wood for this is best for the spine otherwise you will end up burning your hand.
    to start with use the same timber for the hearth and spine this will make things easier chestnut is a good starter wood and when you've mastered that try mixing it up to get your favourite mix

Here's some good ones

Willow on Lime
    Willow on Willow
    Hazel on lime