Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Hi from a new member

Alone in the Wilderness Fallschirmwomble's Avatar

Hi from a new member

Hi all,

My best friend (also BC oppo) recommended to me some articles on this website and I am impressed by what I've seen so far. Well done and thankyou, Ashley C (and contributers).

I've been into bushcraft since I was a kid in the '70s, though it was more as a teenager in the early '80s that I began to pick up and practise proper bushcraft principles. These were honed through military service and numerous hikes and rockclimbing trips. Self-taught originally from books, the internet has turbocharged my development, enthusing me along the way.

One of the benefits of BC is that it should never cost much in the way of money - and this, especially these days, suits me well 'cause I rarely have enough disposable income with which to do much! I try to keep it real by focusing my BC knowledge/practice relevant to UK/Europe: it'll be a LONG while before - if ever - I get a chance to travel to terrains more exotic.

A creature of habit, I'm very much old school, relying on what's tried and tested for me - aside from my rucksack and clothing, most of my kit is military issue or orientated. I've not yet tried hammock camping so this is what I'm working on presently.

I try to make my own kit wherever possible - MUCH cheaper than shop produced kit, more suited to my preferences and part of my skills development. Over the past months, I've been knitting hammocks. In the past week, I've made some "Magic Biscuits" in various combinations of wax and petroleum jelly: to be tested when I can coax my oppo outdoors for a natural BBQ. I'm looking forward to that!

Outside BC, my hobbies/interests include: military history, British webbing of the 20th century, British Airborne Forces parachute kit, DIY, cooking/eating, fitness (also my profession) and photography (a former profession to which I'll be returning).