Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: A little advice would be greatly appreciated. (Long trek)

Lightbulb A little advice would be greatly appreciated. (Long trek)

I'm thinking of going for a long trek. A long long trek. At some point. Once I'm confident enough.

The only problem is, I have no experience and next to no gear. But that is not so important or a permanent problem. I'll take it step by step till I can achieve my goal.

Would anyone be kind enough to give me a rundown on the gear you would use on such a trek and for general bushcraft and wilderness survival.

My Checklist: (This is now a checklist for things I am going to buy, feel free to scrutinise or suggest)

Shelter
    Hammock - DD Travel
    Tarp - ??

Cooking
    Pots - any old.
    Stove - Trangia Triangle style DIY. Or.. just the fire pit.

General Purpose
    Fallkniven DC4 - pocket whetstone.
    Compass - ??
    Map - Depends on location.

Tools
    Fire - Firesteel.
    The work knife - ??
    The delicate knife - ??
    The multitool - Leatherman of some sort.
    The axe - ??

Health and safety
    FAK - I'll put one together.

Tips and advice are greatly appreciated.
    Last edited by Luke; 22-02-2013 at 03:36 PM.

I'll be honest with you straight from the off you are heading into danger, don't take this the wrong way I don't mean it to sound bad you will get yourself into trouble especially if you know as little as you say you know. It is a awesome idea and would be brilliant for someone to survive that way but unfortunately chances are you'll get lost or get caught out in a storm and be in bother soon. I'd keep it as a goal absolutely but start off with something doable first.

Danny

Like Danny suggested, I'd keep that goal in mind and start with baby steps. If you can't read a map and navigate by compass, you'll need to get training if you're headed for a large area of little population like Dartmoor.