Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast

Thread: My First Bowie....work in progress

My First Bowie....work in progress

Hi folks.

I've never done a WIP before, so thought i would this time, along with making my first Bowie. Forgive me if its not upto the standard of some of the other WIP threads i have seen on here..

Ok, here we go.

This knife is being made for the BCUK knife comp, i agreed with one of the members there that i would make a stick tang knife for the first time. I didn't want to make a puukko though. I've always admired a certain Bowie i had seen online, so i used that for the inspiration for this one. Its not your standard clip point style of bowie, i prefer this style.

The steel is 4.6mm D2, and the knife has a 10" Blade and will have an overall length of around 15"

Here are the starting materials i had, A big piece of D2, some 6mm angle brass, and a nice block of Yew for the handle.

Blank cut out and shaped

Ready to start grinding. I had to clamp an extra piece of steel to my grinding plate to accommodate the size of the blade, as this is waaay bigger than the normal bushy type knives i've made for the last 3 years.

A couple of hours later, the rough grinding is done

A couple more hours had the blade ready for HT, and leaving me with sore fingers

Time to make the bolster fitting. Off to the milling machine..I still haven't decided in what style i'm going to make the bolster yet, so i just got the slot sorted and all fitting nicely to the blade. I used a 4mm cutter and some nice files to get a good fit. I'll think on what i'm going to do with it tonight. Its all got to be finished tomorrow

The blade was then sealed in stainless steel foil, ready to go in the oven.

In it goes, for a heat treat process that will take the best part of 7 hours.

Thats where i am with it now, Its going to be a long night....

More to follow tomorrow.

Looking Good HillBill. Looking forward to seeing the end product
    Kris MacLeod
    Youtube Channel

One with Nature