Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Completely new to wild camping

Exclamation Completely new to wild camping

As I am new to this, I need someone to go with once or twice in order to know how to behave around this grounds.

I have a small military experience since I am a cypriot but nothing as much as wild camping.

I was thinking of going to loch lomond and try to camp there and see how it ends.
    I still need to buy few more things though, like waterproof trousers, a compass and first aid kit.

If anyone is interested to help me or even go out with me, I would appreciate it a lot!

if not then I will just go and see how it turns out ;D

Kind Regards,
    Harry

Hello and welcome, I wouldn't go on your own for the first time espically in scotland. Make sure you get used to your kit and maby do a couple of day trips to practice.
    Have fun and be carefull if you do go.

Scott

Hi Harry and welcome. I would mirror Scotts advice and also add that for a good part of the year (March through to October) a local byelaw prohibits camping around Loch Lomond

http://www.lochlomond-trossachs.org/...nu-id-611.html
    [

Hi Harry, Have you looked at the post on this thread from Rough rider " Possible meet" it might be helpful for you.
    cheers
    BJ
    “For the strength of the Pack is the Wolf, and the strength of the Wolf is the Pack.”

One with Nature
    "Always remember, no matter where you go there you are."
    hello HarryLFH,
    "Γεια σου" YIA SOU 'Sheretume'
    Had to ask a mate for this greeting
    Anyway.. as NBC members say maybe better to gain some experience
    in the locality before venturing out to the Wilds of Scotland. i understand
    you have Military Experience this will stand you good stead.
    Have a wee browse through the Visit Scotland website
    http://surprise.visitscotland.com/?g...FQzKtAod-jYAKw
    you may find some very good locations or I could suggest maybe
    one of the outdoor centres 'Glenmore Lodge' give you a taster of T.G.O