Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Knife Making Video

Knife Making Video

I can't miss this opportunity to add my little video here!
    If you want to make your own knife, one like the Woodlore knife that Ray Mears sells, then my video is worth a watch I reckon!
    www.greenpete.co.uk/knife-making/
    You can watch the video courtesy of Youtube or download the DVD version for free!
    Ashley did a great review of the DVD here.
    Do not mess with the forces of Nature, for thou art small and biodegradable!

NaturalBushcraft Founder Ashley Cawley's Avatar

Thumbs up

A pleasure to watch, it can teach an absolute beginner the entire knife making process in under 35mins.
    Really recommend watching it. Well done Pete & thanks for sharing your work with the community.
    Ashley Cawley

Youtube | Forum | Twitter | Flickr
    Leave No Trace

I've just watched the video - mightily impressed. As I really don't have access to forge making or using skills. Are there ready made blades out there that just need you to make the handle for?

Quote Originally Posted by Ken View Post
    I've just watched the video - mightily impressed. As I really don't have access to forge making or using skills. Are there ready made blades out there that just need you to make the handle for?
    Yeah, loads!! You can get a high carbon steel one for about a tenner, greenman bushcraft sells them and loads of other places.
    When in doubt Brew-Up!

I have the video on DVD here next to my bed, still dreaming of the day I get a chance to make a fire that'll get a decent size file hot enough. I did it with a little file I'm intending to make a carving knife with, but have not yet converted a large file to make a knife with. It's an absolute MUST WATCH in my opinion. Great video by a great chap. You're on my list of people I'd like to meet one day Pete - who knows if we ever will. Either way, thank you for sharing the knowledge and making the time to show us how.