Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Wild Camping/Hiking Newbie - Need Some Advice

Question Wild Camping/Hiking Newbie - Need Some Advice

Hi all,

Newbie here looking for some advice from experienced campers or experts.

Within next few weeks I will hopefully jumping on bus and going to North York Moors to do some short hiking/wild camping solo or with a friend. This will be my first time wild camping excluding 1 nighters in local fields for a laugh/drink. I am very respectful so will not be leaving any rubbish and leaving area as I found it. Ideally will try and find a nice secluded spot away from roads etc.

I have bought myself various bits and bobs so far like 80L backpack, tent, sleeping bag/mat, Trangia stove/set, The Pocket Stove, Fire Steel, Mess tins, Crusader mug, Folding Saw, Survival Knife, Small multi-tool. I intent to get some more things here and there like a hydration bag for example.

Does anybody have any advice on a good location for a newbie to start hike or any nice secluded areas or woodlands where we can camp (pref co-ordinates/gmap), what other equipment I should take or any other general advice would be very welcome and appreciated.

Regards
    Adam.
    Last edited by ADz; 30-07-2012 at 12:01 AM.

I got one pice of advice if you wan't to be comfortable hauling that 80 litre backpack of yours full of kit. Take it for a walk a few times before you set out on your expedition so you are used to carrying it.
    It will get you longer out on D-day...
    Victory awaits the one, that has everything in order - luck we call it
    Defeat is an absolute consequense for the one that have neglected to do the necessary preparations - bad luck we call it
    (Roald Amundsen)

Bumbling Bushcraft on Youtube
    Nordisk Bushcraft - The Nordic bushcraft blog and forum