Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Brolly camps, sun loungers and Carp!

Brolly camps, sun loungers and Carp!

Sorry folks, but I couldn't resist this from the underblanket thread, seemed like too good an opportunity for a bit of nostalgia to miss, but didn't want to derail the underblanket thread completely.

Quote Originally Posted by JonnyP
    Quote Originally Posted by garethw
    Hi Jonny,
    Gosh your carp fishing year!!!!.. makes it seem like a long time ago...

I've been doing it for over 30 years... and must admit most has been under an umbrella, in all its permutations...(remember the Send Marketing Brolly Camp???) or more recently a bivvy, (since Hutchy started marketing them).... (Started off by pinching my mum's sun lounger with orange flower on it as a bed chair.)

I'd have been very grateful to have known about a hammock & tarp before, on lakes that needed a good hike to get to the pegs.

It was Shaun Harrison, a good friend of mine, whom you may have heard of, that gave me the idea. Since, everywhere I can find trees I hang a hammock. Then my bivvy and bed chair stay in the motor.

cheers
    Gareth
    Sorry for digressing here folk..

Your Mums sun lounger lol.. Was it one of those that folded up from the top and the bottom, and went click click click into place..?
    I started on the carpies in the Eighties when it became popular. I started out on the floor on a roll mat before spending way too much money on all the identical kit and posh bits of stainless steel and padded beds from all the right brands. Consumerism got me hook line n sinker.
    That lake of yours looks nice. You got some monsters in that water eh..