Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Total beginner with group of kids

Alone in the Wilderness chicken lady's Avatar

Total beginner with group of kids

Hi all

I am a mum and home educate my kids. As part of this I am setting up a bushcraft style group for a group of about a dozen 10 year olds. I want to start small and build up to bigger things - I just don't know what I should start with, or what to aim towards. As the title suggests I am a total beginner. We go camping a lot, and like all things natural and messy and muddy.

We are planning to start with things like foraging, den building, knife skills (whittling), building fires, cooking outdoors, building up to camps out.

Any suggestions gratefully received, or point me to relevant resources.

A question about fires too - where are we allowed to do them?? We live in the West Midlands anre there are open areas such as the Lickey Hills, Clent and Baggeridge Park, but I don't know what the law says..

thanks so much for reading this

Lisa

To start with I'd reckamend a book by Richard mabey called food for Free,a guide to over 100 edible plants,berries,mushrooms,seaweed and shellfish and advice on when to gather,what to pick and how to cook it,the den buildings a good start.The knife skills I'd leve for a while till you get to now the kids and there temperment,Mora do a knife without a point for kids they are only cheep.The fire thing you will have to look in to,you can not go lighting fires where you like if you wont to teach them how to cook use 1or2 disposable BBQ.Hope this helps Lisa,any thing more just ask the guys &girls on ear will now most thingsAtb...............DONT GET EATEN BY THE BEARS....................TONY.

Talland Bay.. An pleg-mor Kernewek hag a wra kovyow
    Good for you Lisa :0) Kids these days miss out on so much fun that can be had outside.