Thread: Hello, New to bushcraft and would like some tips and advice please

Hello, New to bushcraft and would like some tips and advice please

Hello, I am new to bushcraft.

I recently did a tour of Scotland but did it with a motorhome. I came across a bushcraft enthusiast who had been living in the wilderness for a week. I thought "WOW, this is awesome" So i got home and started looking into it. There is so much information so thought i would join this forum as i figured this would be the best place for advice. As i'm only starting out what would advice could you give a beginner on what equipment to use, good locations, techniques in fire starting, foraging etc.

Thanks,

Mike
    All things wild ESCAPE THE 9 TO 5 and operate your business from anywhere in the world. Discover your true freedom

Hello Mike and welcome.

You've made a great first step as there is a wealth of information and knowledge on this site. You are best off attending any meet you can as you'll get good advice, get to see what kit folks use (right up close) and learn what works for you and more importantly what doesn't. IF you have any basic kit (such as a tent and sleeping bag), I'd stick with that for now and think about what to purchase later on, once, you've seen what others are using.

There are loads of "lit lists" on this forum (just have a search). Also, many groups for bushcraft are springing up on Facebook - have a search there for meets local to you.

Finally, ask on here if you need an answer - we don't bite

Cheers,

M@
    "If you were to ask me what I consider to be my finest achievement, I could answer the question without hesitation: teaching." ~ Raymond Blanc.

It's a question hard to answer, as there are as many approaches to this as there are people doing it.
    What I suggest for you is to try and spend a night out, preferably near your home, car or your caravan.
    That way you will see if the kit you allready have will work for you, or if changes needs to be done.