PDA

View Full Version : Any advice on best knife for bushcraft/ camp task?

VEV
19-02-2013, 07:33 PM
Hi, i am new to this forum have just introduced myself on other thread. I am curious to know what length blade people suggest for all round bushcraft/ camp out. I am just getting into wilderness camping and bushcraft but have always used a six inch blade on or around the farm and when camping in general. I can feather with it and baton well but tend to use a smaller 3 inch blade for skinning etc. What do others use for their all round blade or is there such a thing!? Cheers

FishyFolk
19-02-2013, 07:51 PM
I use two.

I have a 9 inch leuku that I use for chopping mostly. And a smaller 3,7 inch blade for everything else.
For knife abuse I got a Mora 711 in my pack as a back up blade. They cost about 4£ her ein Norway, has a scary sharp edge and are indestructible. You can't get anything better for money, and you'd be daft not to get a Mora for your knife collection.

JonnyP
19-02-2013, 07:52 PM
No rules mate. Use what you are happy with.. So long it does the job eh..

VEV
19-02-2013, 08:07 PM
Yes your right whatever suits you and does the job. I know those Mora are top value for the blade and very sharp. I think im going to get one as a back up as its light and good value. I have an esee 6 which I love. Such a good balance and blade and weight. i am a woman with small hands but it fits me perfectly but NOT cheap!! Cheers

Bernie
19-02-2013, 08:56 PM
Or... do the bushcrafty thing and make your own. :)

VEV
19-02-2013, 08:59 PM
Mmm thats quite a challenge but maybe one day :confused:

luresalive
19-02-2013, 09:00 PM
Got to agree with Jonny, use what you're comfortable with and what suits you regardless of what everybody else says you should use. A £5 knife does exactly the same thing as a £300 knife, it cuts!

freedom lover
19-02-2013, 09:07 PM
Hi Vee,