PDA

View Full Version : Gap Year Kit Suggestions

Davidgladstone12
22-10-2012, 06:56 PM
Hi all,

I am currently in my final year of my A-levels and am planning to take a year out before University. My destination will be Australia and I plan to do a fair bit of Bushcrafting and Wild camping in the outback. :D

I will be taking 70L Vango rucksack but only intend to fill the 10L bottom compartment with my camping gear and was wondering if anyone has any suggestions of which items I should take. Currently my list roughly consists of:
My DD Travel hammock - because it can be put up as a bivi or hammock and has a layer of mosquito netting.
My DD 3X3 Tarp - In case of rain, I may invest in a DD solo Tarp but I would ideally like to keep costs low.
My small cotton sleeping bag liner - lightweight, comfy and appropriate for the climate.
My 28 Series Mini Trangia - compact, not a brilliant weight but I like the compactness and the small pot with locking lid, also the pot contains matches, lighter, fuel, cloth, scourer and pot handle

In addition to this, I will also have general gear like first aid kit, a head torch and my leatherman in the main pack.

I am hoping for suggestions on whether you think my list is realistic or appropriate as well as anything I have missed from the list that should be there.

I have entered this into the ultra lightweight category due to the lack of space and I would like it to be as light as possible but Moderators feel free to categorize it differently if it would be better suited elsewhere.

Any suggestions appreciated :)

David

Chubbs
23-10-2012, 06:59 PM
Hi there David and welcome to the forum.

I'm not really the person to advise on kit as I really don't have the knowledge or experience, but seeing as though your questions seem to have been missed, I thought I would give them a bump in the hope that other more experienced members can help.

Enjoy your time away and good luck with your chosen university course.

Cheers Neil.