PDA

View Full Version : Picture This

Humakt
27-07-2012, 12:23 PM
Mobile phones with cameras and digital photography have really opened up photography as a hobby and I am sure many of us like to take pictures of our times outside.
But.
Does anyone else like to draw/sketch and do a bit of painting?
I do.
Photographs tell an unequivocal story of where you are and what you did. But drawing and painting give a more interpretive representation, bringing something of your own personal experience and emphasis.
Occasionally I take a small (A5) sketch pad with me and like to make either a quick sketch, or maybe a more detailed drawing, and sometimes a watercolour palette as well.
Does anyone else do this, or is it just me?

And no, I'm not going to post my pictures! Firstly, I have no way of digitalising them; and secondly, they're mine and I'm not a great artist just competent enough.

paulthefish2009
27-07-2012, 01:06 PM
I really would like to try to paint the things that i see,got two weeks off after today so i may well try. Any suggestions regarding "my first painting kit"? Go on lets have a look at what you done :please: Paul

Humakt
27-07-2012, 01:11 PM
All you need is a sketch pad and pen/pencil.
The best way to start these things is to just start.

I like it when you read a book of memoirs or something and there's a few sketches in there. So that's what I thought I would do. Some of them are just the briefest of lines, so go into more detail. It all depends on the time I have, the mood I'm in, and what I think is the most appropriate.

If I had some way of digitising my pictures I could be talked in to showing one or two of the best. But I have no way of digitising them - I don't have a scanner or anything like that.

FishyFolk
27-07-2012, 03:15 PM
If I had some way of digitising my pictures I could be talked in to showing one or two of the best. But I have no way of digitising them - I don't have a scanner or anything like that.