PDA

View Full Version : How to best hang a tarp

FishyFolk
08-06-2012, 11:27 AM
First off, i am a ground dweller, no hammock in sight for me.

I just purchased a 3x2 meter tarp. Intended use is as a wind break, or as a rain shelter on day trips. If I spend the night, up comes the tent, as I am in midge paradise...

Anyway, how to best hang this thing in those two roles? (pictures will be nice).

FishyFolk
08-06-2012, 11:30 AM
Never mind :-)

http://www.naturalbushcraft.co.uk/images/tarpology/Tarp-Configs1.jpg

Jon D
20-04-2013, 09:54 AM
I'm a newbie when it comes to tarp setups and have been learning a lot from this website but what I haven't seen mentioned is, what is the best rope to use for the Ridgeline? I have plenty of Paracord but I've read that it's prone to stretching when wet. What are peoples thoughts on this and if recommending something other than Paracord, would you please provide a link to where it can be purchased. Many thanks.

Jon D
20-04-2013, 01:20 PM
No worries, I've found some on the DD website. £4 for 12 meters of 6mm.

Psycho
20-04-2013, 01:37 PM
Hi Jon D.
I also use Paracord to set up my tarp. You could use it with some thin Shockcord. I think that will hold your tarp tight, even if the paracord is getting longer by streching.
(But I'm a newbie, too in setting up a tarp)

FishyFolk
20-04-2013, 01:50 PM
Since I started this thread an Eon ago, I've climbed back into the trees, and swing from a hammock, like any other sensible creature would.
I now use a 4,5x3 m DD tarp, and on my two outings with it I did not notice any significant stretch in my paracord. And those where both heavy snow nights. On the last of them, I had 40 cm of snow in 6 hours. Most of it slid right off my tarp, but it did cause it to be a lot heavier.

In the US (Hammock Forum)I see that they use very thin Zing it line for their tarps, as it does not stretch and is very light to carry. But for me that would just end up ina birds nest night mare. So Para Cord it is for me.