PDA

View Full Version : Helikon SFU Tactical Pants: Review

garethw
22-03-2012, 12:54 PM
I’ve been wearing Craghoppers Kiwi’s for the last two or three years, but have finally got fed up with the fact that they give up the ghost after that sort of time scale. The main gripe being that they split at the crotch area….

So after looking around the net for a brand in this price bracket, that hopefully would be more robust... I settled on a brand called Helikon, a Polish brand who make military cargo type pants & clothing, that have had some excellent reviews on the French Bushcraft forums.

Helikon SFU Tactical Pants

I ordered a couple of pairs as they retail at around £25 or 27€….I got one pair in Coytote and the other in OD. The Coyote is a weird colour, looking greener than one would imagine. But I'm fine with that.

The trousers are made of 50/50 nylon/cotton Nylco mix and are fairly light weight. They are however, heavier material than the Craghoppers Solardry. They feel a very substantial garment, which is nice. The seams are all double stitched, with the seat and knees double thickness.

http://www.croixblanchelakes.com/helikon%20pants.jpg

The waist has 6 belt loops, wide enough for military type belts… the waist is closed & flies are closed by buttons. 501 wearers amongst you won’t mind this, but the fly does gape a bit. I guess the fly is like this to allow you to have a ‘jimmy’ by opening only one button…. No zips is perhaps not a bad thing as my Craggies had a number of bust zips after a time, especially on the pockets.

There are a myriad of pockets. All are closed by Velcro. Two rear pockets, two cargo pockets, two hip pockets and two small pockets in front of the hip pockets, for a phone, lighter or pocket knife. Finally there is a strange pocket on the right calf… not sure when one would use that!!!!