PDA

View Full Version : A good pair of pants

Kernowek Scouser
12-02-2012, 06:52 PM
As my growing interest for all things bushcraft has been born out of an enjoyment of walking (and latterly backpacking) I have always tended to go for pants geared towards walking. But now I am spending more time on my knees setting up camp and cooking grub, I think it might be an idea to expand my wardrobe to include more multi functional pants.

Ideally, I am looking for a pair of pants that meet the following criteria:
Lightweight
Breathable
Reasonably weather proof
Generally hard wearing
Specifically have reinforced knees
Are available in short leg size as I am not a giant
And most importantly, don't make you chafe like a like a bar steward after a good days walking.

I've been looking at Montane's Terra Pants, which seem to tick all of the boxes, but it would be great if folks would like to chip in with suggestions.

Thanks,

Colin

Ben Casey
12-02-2012, 06:58 PM
I have an old pair of combat trousers I use for most things but there are loads out there and some rather expensive ones to :)

Martin
12-02-2012, 06:59 PM
Terra pants don't have enough pockets. Great walking trousers but the lack of pockets becomes very tiresome.

For playing around camp, and for walking come to that, you just can't really beat Craghoppers. They are dead cheap from the likes of TK Maxx, fairly hard wearing and look the part. For the money, you can't go wrong.

Martin

Roadkillphil
12-02-2012, 07:15 PM
Terra pants don't have enough pockets. Great walking trousers but the lack of pockets becomes very tiresome.

For playing around camp, and for walking come to that, you just can't really beat Craghoppers. They are dead cheap from the likes of TK Maxx, fairly hard wearing and look the part. For the money, you can't go wrong.

Martin

Unless youm on Dartmoor and the crotch splits wide open!! ;)

Martin
12-02-2012, 07:21 PM
Unless youm on Dartmoor and the crotch splits wide open!! ;)