PDA

View Full Version : Cleaning?

Design
12-01-2012, 10:00 AM
Hi everyone,

I've just got a BCB crusader and I'm planning a little trip in a few weeks to try it out. But I'm pretty new to this and was wondering what is the best way to clean pots and cutlery etc, if you have a limited amount of clean water? Do you just use a minimal amount or can you clean it with unclean water and then just stick it in the fire for a while?

Thanks
Chris

Silverback
12-01-2012, 10:41 AM
We used to clean out issue mess tins with a handful of gravel /sand / small stones. and a little water. the gravel/sand mix acted as an abrasive and absorbed liquid - quick rinse with water - hey presto. Give it a try it works.

(Although generally i used to cook in the tins and packets then - no washing up at all :happy-clapping:)

Design
12-01-2012, 10:48 AM
That's great, I'll give it a try.

Cheers mate.

CanadianMike
12-01-2012, 12:05 PM
Ash is a pretty common way to clean pots, etc. as well, since it has lye in it (soap is made from animal fat and lye, the fat gives it a harder more mangable form factor).

Martin
12-01-2012, 12:52 PM
Of course, it all depends on how long you're going to be out for. I normally just use a little hot water and swill the pot out and leave the big clean up for when I get home. Alternatively, you can put some washing up liquid in a small bottle and again use just a very small amount of water to wash and then rinse the pot out. The fire or stove will, as you said, kill any nastys the next time you come to cook in it.

Martin

Shewie
12-01-2012, 01:16 PM
A handful of sphagnum moss makes a great scourer

Martin
12-01-2012, 01:20 PM
A handful of sphagnum moss makes a great scourer

Yes it does!! Great shout Rich.

Martin

Al21
12-01-2012, 01:35 PM
As others have said, grit, sand, ashes etc for stubborn bits. We usually have a small container of washing up liquid used sparingly. Not tried sphagnum moss, but found used tea bags to be quite successful.

Al

garethw