PDA

View Full Version : Coming out in the woods

Metal mug
10-11-2011, 08:49 PM
What kind of reaction do you get from people when you tell them you're a bushcrafter? Do they think you're some Rambo nut, or do they understand what bushcrafting's about. I was just curious to know what other people find.

Jack

Bernie
10-11-2011, 09:05 PM
People at work (I'm a software developer) think I'm a bit of a Rambo. My other interest (canoeing) doesn't help much either - just makes things worse when they see photos of me FAR from shore all alone in a little canoe. Yeah, I'm a nutter for sure in their books. :)

Ben Casey
10-11-2011, 09:15 PM
My old Army mates think I'm mad my family know I'm mad so nothing out of the ordinary for me LOL

Martin
10-11-2011, 09:17 PM
Not sure you mean coming out do you Jack? ;)

Martin

Metal mug
10-11-2011, 09:18 PM
Not sure you mean coming out do you Jack? ;)

MartinAh at least someone got my joke. :D

LandRoverMatt
10-11-2011, 09:41 PM
Well as im only a begginer I dont call my self a bushcrafter but my mate thinks its mad :) no one really comment about it

comanighttrain
10-11-2011, 09:51 PM
People ask about, say I wish I could do that and then are always "busy" whenever im going, which is usually any given weekend....

GwersyllaCnau
11-11-2011, 12:04 AM
There is a rumour going round my place of work that I'm ex SAS... this could be due to my interests.

CanadianMike
11-11-2011, 12:42 AM
The majority in North America haven't a clue what bushcraft means....................... I usually have to explain it as "lightweight camping, talking what you need in a light backpack, and fashioning everything else you need from nature", but then again, it's worthless to say all overall, and I still haven't experienced lightweight camping myself, don't get out much and tend to take way more than I need, entire baby steps if you will........

survivalgirl
11-11-2011, 02:40 AM
yea I don't like saying I love survival

JEEP
11-11-2011, 07:36 AM