PDA

View Full Version : Carving?

bushcraftboy
28-09-2011, 12:17 PM
I've never tried carving before, and the only Knife I have is a razor sharp 840MG, what can you guys suggest I try to carve/whittle first, and what wood to use?

Tony1948
28-09-2011, 01:09 PM
Hi BCb,cut your self a bit of siver Birch about 11/2-2inch round,split it down the middle and try to carve a spoon with the knife you have.For you'r first one dont try to cut out the bowl,just get the shape rightT^

bushcraftboy
28-09-2011, 01:17 PM
Hi BCb,cut your self a bit of siver Birch about 11/2-2inch round,split it down the middle and try to carve a spoon with the knife you have.For you'r first one dont try to cut out the bowl,just get the shape rightT^

How do even get the bowl with a regular clipper?

Also are there any guides because I'll just butcher the wood.

RobbC
28-09-2011, 03:59 PM
How do even get the bowl with a regular clipper?

You will need to buy a spoon/crook knife for making spoons, bowls and such like. Mora make very good and cheap ones:
http://www.greenmanbushcraft.co.uk/cutting-tools/woodcarving-knives/frosts-164-single-edge-crook-spoon-knife.htm

Hope this helps, Robb

bushcraftboy
28-09-2011, 04:04 PM

RobbC
28-09-2011, 04:16 PM
Just thought id add some simple tips: Dont rush it, and think about the cuts your going to make; Have a good idea about how you want it to look and if/when you do get a spoon knife - this is a tip i got fom Ashley - go against the grain.

Again hope this helps:), Robb

bushcraftboy
28-09-2011, 04:45 PM
Just thought id add some simple tips: Dont rush it, and think about the cuts your going to make; Have a good idea about how you want it to look and if/when you do get a spoon knife - this is a tip i got fom Ashley - go against the grain.

Again hope this helps:), Robb

Hmm against the grain, so like the grain is like this ______________ and cut it on the side like this '
'

RobbC
28-09-2011, 04:51 PM