PDA

View Full Version : Map Cases

Jimmy69
03-07-2011, 10:32 PM
Is folding an OS map so the section you want is in the map case window some sort of dark art of origami?? :confused:

Just spent 15 minutes wrestling with a map of the Isle of Skye...tempted to fetch a pair of scissors! :ashamed:

Adam Savage
03-07-2011, 10:57 PM
It does take a bit of fiddling with a 1:25,000 scale map. I was shown today, by Martin, that a 1:50,000 has enough detail for 99% of any navigation. Having a larger scale map helps with the folding part, as there is twice as much chance of the bit you want being on a presentable section of the map. if you follow lol

Martin
03-07-2011, 11:16 PM
As Adam said, we have just navigated for two days over Dartmoor with only a 1:50,000 map. The only detail that I miss on this scale is field boundaries which can be really useful.

I spent some time last weekend micro navigating for a basic ML qualification that I'm studying for and, once again, the 1:50,000 scale got me to precise points over distances of over 1km.

Anyway, to answer your original question; you will find it easier if you remove the cardboard cover. This will make it possible to fold it any way you like.

Martin

Jimmy69
03-07-2011, 11:16 PM
Ah, i get what you mean. Yeah i was using an Explorer OS map. In the end i just photocopied the section i needed and put the folded map in behind it lol.

Jimmy69
03-07-2011, 11:19 PM
you will find it easier if you remove the cardboard cover. This will make it possible to fold it any way you like.

Martin

He he, now thats a good idea. It's the main thing that's getting in the way! :)

Martin
03-07-2011, 11:22 PM
He he, now thats a good idea. It's the main thing that's getting in the way! :)

Ha ha. It seems like a heresy to cut up your pristine new map but it's the only way. ;)

Martin

Humakt
04-07-2011, 12:31 PM
Ah ha ha ha!
I have a very cunning way around this that is so simple it's genius.