PDA

View Full Version : Charcoal Forge

Big T
23-05-2011, 09:07 AM
Hiya,

Im pretty new to this Bushcraft stuff but I am a keen recycler and I work in both Wood and Metal. Since watching various videos on Knife making I have decided to give it a go! I will prob go with using an old file to begin with as this seems the best method of giving fair results. First thing to sort out is a Forge so i`m going to make one out of the bottom half of a 55kg gas bottle, as I have a supply of these due to my Chiminea making hobby! It will have an air inlet built into the bottom and will run on charcoal. Im unsure yet if i`m going to use a hairdryer, reverse vaccum cleaner or my compressor to supply the airflow. Most people seem to go with a hairdryer but im thinking that the compressor will have a more controllable supply of air, any comments?

I will post pics asap and any feedback/comments are more than welcome!

Cheers,

Anthony.

RobbC
23-05-2011, 10:14 AM
Hey Anthony,

Scroll down to the forge on this page http://www.naturalbushcraft.co.uk/kit/reviews/making-a-bushcraft-knife-with-a-homemade-forge.html In the video there using an adjustable plug witha hair dryer.

Hope this helps, Robb

Big T
23-05-2011, 10:26 AM
Yeah, that is a good video! I was thinking of just having the air inlet in the bottom of the forge and covering it with a steel mesh, the one in the video might have issues with ash falling through the holes and eventually blocking it all up!

RobbC
23-05-2011, 10:33 AM
I never really thought of the problems the ash may cause, although it would probably take ages to get to a stage when it was a problem.#

Robb

Big T
23-05-2011, 10:34 AM
Fair point! Im just a bit of a perfectionist! lol!

RobbC
23-05-2011, 10:36 AM
I guess if you get it right in the first place less you have to do after.

Robb

Big T
23-05-2011, 10:50 AM
Thats my way of thinkin! Prob comes from being an Engineer, I do tend to over engineer stuff but i recon "belt n braces" is the way to go!

Big T