Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Fire Fail

Alone in the Wilderness

Fire Fail

Hi
    I'm new to bushcraft. I had my first overnight in the woods last weekend and loved it. All went well... knots remembered, hammock & tarp secure and comfy... but I couldn't get a fire lit.

I cleared the ground and laid some inch-thick pieces of wood as a base. I collected and graded wood as dry as I could find (dead branches,, twigs off the ground as much as possible). I graded the wood roughly as 1-2mm , 5mm, 10mm (half inch) and then "big". I used vaseline and cotton balls with a firesteel. I had a larger piece of branch to use as a lean to.

The really thin stuff burned fine and I got a little fire going, but none of the 5mm pieces would take. They smouldered and blackened but would not burn. I had to find more thin stuff to try again but still no joy. By that time it was getting dark so no fire for me.

The wood didn't seem that wet to me, but maybe I can't recognise wet wood properly! Other than that, I don't know what I did wrong. I must have done something wrong, but I don't know what.

Can anyone shed any light?

Think big.
    Get a BIG pile of thin stuff, then double it.
    For the next size wood try using split wood and use larger & larger split wood till you have a good thick bed of coals.
    After that just about any wood will burn.
    After a few dozen fires you'll know what works & what doesn't in your local woods.

Good on you for admitting failure. I suspect many just stay quiet about it.

You might know some or all of this but since you asked, and hopefully it'll help someone else...

There are three things you need to make/sustain fire:
    - Oxygen
    - Heat
    - Fuel

The first is seldom a challenge for bushcrafting (though sometimes too much wind can ruin fire starting).