Page 1 of 13 1234567891011 ... LastLast

Thread: Making a Coracle

Making a Coracle

I have spent a while researching coracle design, and today I made a start.
    I love making things and this is an exiting new project and indeed, probably going to turn into a lifetime hobby too, with lots of mistakes and lessons learned on the way.

I'm going to post pictures and describe each stage. Please be aware, I am a total beginner at this and although I've studied designs, videos and others descriptions, I'm pretty much making it up as I go. Any hints, tips and Constructive Critisism are very welcome.

This is the coppiced willow hedge I'm sourcing materials from

Willow hedge by roadkillphil, on Flickr

This is Rooster, A good friend o mine, he wanted to come and play too. So we set to harvesting the willow wands

Cutting wands by roadkillphil, on Flickr

I marked out the ribs on the grass using a couple of sticks and cordage as a compass. I marked out 2 semi circles with a straight edge between of about a foot. This gave me an oval shape, but not too elongated. I also used a stick to mark the difference between the holes.

Marking ribs by roadkillphil, on Flickr

Then we sharpened up the wands and inserted them into the pre marked holes, giving them a good shove and angling them out slightly.

Cutting more ribs by roadkillphil, on Flickr

One wand looked a bit ropey so, Rooster went and cut another. As you can see in the photo we're building right next to the hedge for this eventuality and also because neither of us have embarked on a project such as this, so we aint 100% on the amount of willow we're gonna need. I'd rather cut just what I need as I go.

By this stage the light was thinning and we wanted to have a plink with the air rifle and catty before dark, so we left it at that and had an hour of target practice down by the stream.