Thread: Faux Midori Traveler's Notebook

Faux Midori Traveler's Notebook

I'm about to make one of these. It's my first project and appeals to me because it looks fairly straight forward (not ready for stitching yet).

What I'd like to ask is, aside from stitching, what ways are there that I could 'finish' the edges of the leather, rather than just leaving them raw. I keep hearing the word burnishing banded about. Yes, I could look it up, but thought I'd come and ask the experts.

Thanks in advance.

Bit more info I forgot to include. The leather I bought is already tanned. Does that mean I can't tan it myself as I'd like it to be darker than it is.

Last edited by OurJud; 13-09-2013 at 12:17 AM.

Welcome to the forum...Im sure one of our leather buffs will be along to give you some ideas..In the meantime could you please visit the intro thread http://www.naturalbushcraft.co.uk/fo...-the-Community! and say hi to the forum members, whilst there could you also take the time to read the 'sticky' post on forum ettiquette

.........once again welcome
    [

Certainly, Sapper. Thanks and hello to you.

[

I like it! I'm also new to leather work myself..., so I'm looking forward to see what your making...
    The inner tube of bicycles are also a nice material to work with...
    I saw bookcovers made out of it, which looked very cool!

[QUOTE=OurJud;96318]I'm about to make one of these. It's my first project and appeals to me because it looks fairly straight forward (not ready for stitching yet).

What I'd like to ask is, aside from stitching, what ways are there that I could 'finish' the edges of the leather, rather than just leaving them raw. I keep hearing the word burnishing banded about. Yes, I could look it up, but thought I'd come and ask the experts.

Thanks in advance.

Bit more info I forgot to include. The leather I bought is already tanned. Does that mean I can't tan it myself as I'd like it to be darker than it is.

*Hi & welcome,