Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Wild Camping Alone

Wild Camping Alone

I was not sure which forum to post this on. This forum seemed the most appropriate

I've just purchased my first hammock + tarp with a view to exploring the increased wild camping possibilities which hammock camping allows. I've done a fair bit of wild camping with friends but now I plan to do something I've never done before - solo wild camping in what wilderness there is here in Ireland. I have to admit that I am both excited and aprehensive about this idea. My aprehension centres around two issues:

1) What happens if I become ill in a isolated location (possibly at night and no phone signal etc)?

Logic tells me that this is unlikely to happen given my health, the amount of time I'll be away and the laws of probability etc but....

2) STRANGER DANGER: What happens if I'm discovered by one or more people (psychos/hooligans) who wish to do me harm (possibly at night and no phone signal etc)

Again logic tells me that I will be camping in remote places, a good hike from the nearest road, where I'll meet few enough people during the day (and most of them are hikers and sound as a pound) and there is very little likelyhood of there being anyone around at night except me. I remind myself that the drink and drug addled, boy-racer, littering scumbags who unfortunately still harbour some hankering for contact with the natural world in their little pea brains, tend not to stray too far from where they can get to in their cars.

but...

But I still have niggling reservations. I know, I sound like a complete chicken but I'm not, Really!! I rode a motorbike for years for God's sake! I'm just a naturally cautious person whose caution has been compounded somewhat by the responsibility of having children. (Oh, and probably over-exposure to an alarmist media)