Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast

Thread: Knife From A File

Knife From A File

This is my first attempt at making myself a bushcraft knife from an old file.

The file was annealed in a camp fire at Ivan's, then i ground off most of the teeth in the workshop.

I traced the outline of my mora for the blade, drew the tang freehand, then cut the excess material off with my grinder.

So far I have shaped the blank, and taken most of the stock from the grind, with the grinder.

And given all the rough edges a quick sanding.

Next step is to give it 99% of it's scandi grind, with a belt sander, before drilling the pin holes for the scales. After this I will re-temper the steel, fit and shape the scales, sharpen her up, then finally attempt to polish the blade best I can.

To be continued...
    Jack of all trades-Master of none

Savage Bushcraft YouTube channel

NaturalBushcraft Founder Ashley Cawley's Avatar
    Great stuff Adam! Well done mate, nice to see.

I've done this same project (inspired thanks to GreenPete), looking back one thing I regret not doing was taking the scandi grind higher up the knife, it seems to get too thick too quick. Looking at your forth photo reminded me of that problem, it depends on how thick your metal is but you might want to consider taking it higher. What mm thick is it?

I got half way through reprofiling my bevel and never got round to finishing it!.. Something I'll have to do.

Looking forward to seeing your progress on this one, thanks for sharing.
    Ashley Cawley

Youtube | Forum | Twitter | Flickr
    Leave No Trace

Quote Originally Posted by Ashley Cawley View Post
    Great stuff Adam! Well done mate, nice to see.